Whitney is back!

12 Sep

Album cover courtesy of Arista RecordsGrammy award winner and multi-platinum artist, Whitney Houston has returned to conquer the music scene once again with her 7th studio album to date and her first in 6 years entitled I Look to You released by Arista Records with Clive Davis as Executive Producer.

Houston recorded her last CD, One Wish: A Holiday Album in 2003. Yes, it’s been six years but it’s worth the wait. I Look to You is consists of 11 beautiful tracks that will surely compensate Whitney’s long absence in the music scene. The album debuted at #1 on the Billboard Hot 200 charts after selling 305,000 copies in one week. This is so far her all-time highest opening week sales.

The title song I Look to You penned by no less than R. Kelly has nothing but words overflowing with inspiration and strength. It’s exactly what Whitney needs after the trials and challenges she has come across in the past few years in her professional and personal life.

 “After all my strength is gone, in you I can be strong.I look to you.And when melodies are gone
In you I hear a song.I look to you
(my levies have broken, my walls have come)
Coming down on me
(crumbling down on me)
All the rain is falling
(the rain is falling, defeat is calling)
Set me free
(I  need you to set me free)
Take me far away from the battle
I need you
Shine on me

 Million Dollar Bill is the second single off the album which has a tinge of modern sound. Written by R&B singer and songwriter Alicia Keys, its upbeat and groovy tune will surely be a hit among the young music lovers. Keys volunteered to be a part of this album since Houston happens to be one of the few music icons she looks up to.

 Whitney Houston may have lost a little clarity and fluidity in her voice but the songs in her new album prove that sincerity, soul and passion are still there. She remains the same old Whitney Houston who could cause a standing ovation after each performance back those days.

I Look to You is a testimony that her 6 years of absence in the music scene does not make any less.

3 Responses to “Whitney is back!”

  1. kenj September 14, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    I watched her live in Good Morning America, she was very emotional but her voice was not good anymore.

  2. Tnelson October 1, 2009 at 1:30 am #

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

    • alexanderbsanpedro October 1, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

      Thank you so much..

Leave a Reply

