57th Annual FAMAS Awards Finalist Announced (with surprises)

5 Oct

balermovieposterploningFilipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences, the pioneer in giving recognitions to the local cinema, has finally released the finalists for its 57th Annual FAMAS Awards to be held on October 18, 2009, at 7:00 p.m. at the Grand Theater of PAGCOR in Paranaque.


Baler (Viva films), a story of a forbidden love between a Mestizo soldier (Jericho Rosales) and a Filipina lass (Anne Curtis) which blossomed in a town in Aurora at the end of 19th century, earns the most nods with 14.  Not far behind with 13 nominations is Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures, Inc.) which tells a beautiful tale of the life of a barrio lass (Judy Ann Santos) who awaits the return of her long lost love.  Baler and Ploning, along with Ay, Ayeng (Aloha Pearl Productions) Caregiver (Star Cinema) Magkaibigan (Maverick Films) When Love Begins (Star Cinema) will vie for the most coveted Best Picture Award.


Surprise inclusions in the list are Ay, Ayeng (Aloha Pearl Productions), When Love Begins (Star Cinema), Ate (Posh Productions) and For the First Time (Star Cinema) with 10, 8, 7 and 5 nominations respectively. These films were snubbed by the other local award giving bodies like the Film Academy of the Philippines (Luna Awards), Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (Gawad Urian), Philippine Movie Press Club (Star Awards) and the rest.


Another unexpected finalist is Richard Gutierrez’s so-so performance in Star Cinema’s For the First Time for the Best Actor Category.  John Lloyd Cruz  should have been included in the list as his acting in A Very Special Love is way better.  FAMAS certainly never fails to surprise people.  Like what happened on April 13, 2009 when newcomer Aleck Bovick (Tampisaw) triumphed over veteran actresses Sharon Cuneta (Magkapatid), Claudine Barreto (Kailangan Kita) Ara Mina (Mano Po) and Alessandra de Rossi (Mga Munting Tinig) as she walked home with the illustrious Best Actress trophy.


Anyways, here is the complete list of the finalists for the 57th Annual FAMAS Awards.


Best Picture:


Ay, Ayeng (Aloha Pearl Productions)

Baler (Viva Films)

Caregiver (Star Cinema)

Magkaibigan (Maverick Films)

Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures, Inc.)

When Love Begins (Star Cinema).


Best Director:


Chito Rono (Caregiver)

Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning)

Ed Palmos (Ay, Ayeng)

Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan)

Joyce Bernal (For the First Time)

Mark Meily (Baler)


Best Actress:


Anne Curtis (Baler)

Dawn Zulueta (Magkaibigan)

Heart Evangelista (Ay, Ayeng)

Judy Ann Santos (Ploning)

Melissa Mendez (Kalakal)

Sharon Cuneta (Caregiver)


Best Actor:


Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins)

Allen Dizon (Paupahan)

Jericho Rosales (Baler)

John Estrada (Caregiver)

Polo Ravales (Walang Kawala)

Richard Gutierrez (For the First Time)


Best Supporting Actress:


Boots Anson Roa (When Love Begins)

Gina Pareno (Ploning)

Isabel Lopez (Ay, Ayeng)

Jean Garcia (Walang Kawala)

Pilar Pilapil (For the First Time)

Snooky Serna (Paupahan)


Best Supporting Actor:


Bojong Fernandez (Ploning)

Eddie Gutierrez (For the First Time)

Emilio Garcia (Walang Kawala)

German Moreno (Paupahan)

John Manalo (Caregiver)

Philip Salvador (Baler)


Best Child Actress:


Janel Calma (Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat)

Jessica Mae Flores (Ay, Ayeng).


Best Child Actor:


Alvin Christian Flores (Ay, Ayeng)

Dominico Soriano (Ay, Ayeng)

Fender Legaspi (Baler)

Makisig Morales (Caregiver)


Best Cinematography:


Charlie Peralta (Ploning)

Lee Meily (Baler)

Rodel Bonus (Ate)

Rodolfo Aves, Jr. (Magkaibigan)

Rodolfo Aves, Jr. (When Love Begins)

Shane Sarte (For the First Time).


Best Story:


Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning)

C.Rono/J.Castro/C.Martinez (Caregiver)

Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan)

Peque Gallaga (Ate)

Roy Iglesias (Baler)

T. Dinopol/C. Gasmen (When Love Begins)


Best Screenplay:


Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning)

Dennis Evangelista (Paupahan)

Ed Palmos (Ay, Ayeng)

Jose Javier Reyes (Magkaibigan)

P.Gallaga/L.Reyes/G. Tagasa (Ate)

Roy Iglesias (Baler)


Best Sound:


Albert Michael Idioma (Ploning)

Albert Michael Idioma (When Love Begins)

Albert Michael Idioma (Caregiver)

Raffy Magsaysay (Ate)

Ronald de Asis (Magkaibigan)

Ditoy Aguila (Baler)


Best Editing:


Danilo Anonuevo (Baler)

Danilo Anonuevo (Ploning)

Manet Dayrit (Caregiver)

Randy Gabriel (Ate)

Randy Gabriel (Magkaibigan)

Vito Cajili (When Love Begins)


Best Musical Score:


Carmina Robles-Cuya (Caregiver)

Jesse Lucas (Ploning)

Jesse Lasaten (Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat)

Jesse Lucas (Magkaibigan)

Vincent de Jesus (Baler)


Best Theme Song:


“Akap” composed by Imago and performed by Imago (Ate) “Sangandaan” composed by Joven Tan and performed by Jan Nieto (Paupahan)

“Ngayon, Bukas at Kailanman” composed by Louie Ocampo and performed by Sarah Geronimo (Baler)


Best Art Direction:


Aped Santos (Baler)

Cyrus Khan (Ay, Ayeng)

Peque Gallaga (Ate)

Raymond Fernandez (Ploning)

Ronnie Cruz (When Love Begins)

Sonny Maculada (Magkaibigan)


Best Special Effects:


Rolando Salem (Ay, Ayeng)

Best Visual Effects: Optima Digital Color Grading (Ploning)

2 Responses to “57th Annual FAMAS Awards Finalist Announced (with surprises)”

  1. VHANS November 13, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    you must have a theme to expose the winners of famas awardees most specialy the child actors

    • Lestat November 18, 2010 at 7:48 am #

      Thanks Vhans for dropping by. What theme are you talking about?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: